Copycat!

This is a replica of a jade pendant I got from Nawbin beads. I used the same silicone self-curing mold compound I mentioned earlier.

The replicas are cast in Rocktite Leveling Cement. The detail is incredible!


This is the original jade pendant.

This is another replica thing I made, the far right is the original. The middle one is the copy.

~ by crystalfacet on March 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “Copycat!”

  1. Thanks, It’s great to hear you like my crazy projects!

    The levitating thing is a really great project, I’m sure the kids will LOVE it! Other than that, I’d suggest having a build-a-paper-airplane area complete with paper, tape, and paperclips. Sun prints are always fun, too. Most of my ideas tend to be more complicated than 6-12 year olds can do. However, have you heard of Instructables.com? It’s full of great projects and how-to’s.

    I’ll be sure to let you know if I think of anything 🙂
    -Calvin

  2. Hello,
    I own and operate a non – profit summer science camp for kids ages 6 – 12 yrs. I came across your vidoe for electrostatic levitation and thought the kids would love this project. I am having an open House this weekend and the kids will be working on this. I then took a look at your blog and am very impressed with your handiwork. Being the creative guy you are, do you you have any ideas for an easy project for kids in my age range? This could be a science or craft project. However being a non profit, I have very limited funds. If you have time just let me know your thoughts. Thanks!
    Angela

Leave a Reply

 
