Two Tools

Here’s two steel pocket tools I made. The one on the top is most recent, the one below is several years old. Just a caparison…the new tool is much shinier and is much harder due to a ‘technological leap’ in the quenching area of metal forging. Only recently, with my new forge, have I been able to heat the metal to it’s critical temperature (I think it’s around 1400 degrees F). After that temp is reached, the steel can be quickly cooled in water. This rapid cooling causes the hardness of the tool to significantly increase. Because the steel is harder on the new tool, I was able to incorporate a bottle opener and a screw driver.

Heres a shot of me making the new knife:

~ by crystalfacet on June 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
